Kebede, Shobukhova Win London Marathon


With the favorites fading away from the punishing race, a diminutive competitor rose to the occasion to snag this year’s crown for the London Marathon. Tsegaye Kebede outpaced Sammy Wanjiru of Kenya and even World Champion Abel Kurui (who finished only fifth), to time in at 2:05:19. The 2008 Olympic Bronze Medallist winning finish is just nine seconds behind Wanjiru’s course record.  

Meanwhile, 2009 Chicago Marathon champion and European 5000-meter record holder Liliya Shobukhova of Russia won the women’s division. Her win came fromm a three-way battle breakaway with compatriot Inga Abitova and Ethiopian Aselfech Mergia. Shobukhova time of  2:22:00 was her career best.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s